Thanks to Tony Ozuna, last night’s show on Radio 1 managed to play music from all 16 countries moving on to the second round of the World Cup, and even managed to put in a few tracks from countries that were eliminated. The setlist follows below:

Truby Trio – Alegre 2004 feat. Marcia Montez (Louie Vega remix)
Status IV – You Ain’t Really Down (Jazzanova’s Hey Baby remix)

Japan (bonus track)
Louie Vega and EOL Band – Aphrodite (originally from Kyoto Jazz Massive)

Max Sedgely – Happy (Spiritual South remix)
Anita O’Day – Sing Sing Sing (RSL remix)

Etienne de Crecy – Scratched

Koop – Tonight (Nicola Conte remix)

Trinidad and Tobago (bonus track)
3 Canal – Oye Como Va

Kinky – El Pato

Ojos de Brujo – Ventilator R80 (Martin Morales remix)
Madrid de los Austrias – Valderama

Montefiori Cocktail – Gypsy Woman
Gerardo Frisina – Alborado

Jorge Ben – Ponta de Lanca Africano (Umbabarauma)
Wilson Simonal – Nao Vem Que Nao Tem
DJ Marky & XRS – LK (Carolina Carol Bela)
Grupo Batuque – Ole Ola (Fauna Flash remix)

Minus 8 – Solaris (Pascal Hahn & Minus 8 remix)

Buari – Karam Bani

Nigeria (bonus track)
Orlando Julius – Disco Highlife

Gotan Project – Diferente

Zuco 103 – Futebol

Carmen Gonzales & Koral Y Esmeralda – Chocolate

South Korea
Shinhwa – Once in a Lifetime

TNMK – Viva Ukraina

Croatia (bonus track)
Eddy Meets Yannah – Reach the Sky

Germany (‘coz they’re the host nation)
Truby Trio – Jaleo (Senor Coconut remix)

Chile (bonus track)
Senor Coconut – Trans Europe Express

There’s one country we missed – Portugal. We had cued up a Cesaria Evora track, but then decided to leave it at the last minute.

At least musically, I’d say the clear favorites are Brazil, followed by Germany and Italy. I won’t even get into predicting the outcome of the tournament, though, now that both my teams (the Czech Republic and the USA) have been eliminated 😦